Alamaze & Fall of Rome Forum
Sea Movement Question - Printable Version

+- Alamaze & Fall of Rome Forum (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum)
+-- Forum: ALAMAZE (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Sea Movement Question (/showthread.php?tid=8716)



Sea Movement Question - HeadHoncho - 11-11-2013

Cipher Wrote:ALSO - Sea movement orders (710/715) require a sea area to be involved. 710/715 issued orders that cover only land areas will fail.

So if you are starting on a pop center that is at sea, you can now move off using 720/725 (without using 710/715) so long as all of your movement areas are on land?

If so, that would be great! (Although I think the change may adversely impact a game turn order I sent in earlier this weekend...)

Thanks as always.


RE: Sea Movement Question - Hamlet - 11-11-2013

If your starting point is not a pop center (but perhaps an unusual sighting on water), but all ordered movements are actually on land, is that a 710?


RE: Sea Movement Question - kevindusi - 11-11-2013

I believe that if your starting point is a water square then you need to use 710/715. I think. Maybe.


RE: Sea Movement Question - HeadHoncho - 11-11-2013

Agree, I know that has been the case historically, but I'm curious now in light of Cipher's comment to the sea power changes, quoted above from the Known Issues thread.

Welcome back, by the way! Smile


RE: Sea Movement Question - Brogan - 11-14-2013

(11-11-2013, 12:02 PM)HeadHoncho Wrote: Agree, I know that has been the case historically, but I'm curious now in light of Cipher's comment to the sea power changes, quoted above from the Known Issues thread.

Welcome back, by the way! Smile

Why not just get rid of 710/715 and join it with 720/725. It would be a heck of a lot easier. Just have the program Check for sea capacity at the start of the move and code it only to cancel/adjust move if there is a lack of capacity.


RE: Sea Movement Question - DuPont - 11-15-2013

(11-14-2013, 07:47 AM)Brogan Wrote:
(11-11-2013, 12:02 PM)HeadHoncho Wrote: Agree, I know that has been the case historically, but I'm curious now in light of Cipher's comment to the sea power changes, quoted above from the Known Issues thread.

Welcome back, by the way! Smile

Why not just get rid of 710/715 and join it with 720/725. It would be a heck of a lot easier. Just have the program Check for sea capacity at the start of the move and code it only to cancel/adjust move if there is a lack of capacity.

Because you can force march in land movement. You can't when part of the leg is over sea; thus the need for a different order.


RE: Sea Movement Question - Ry Vor - 11-15-2013

Yes, if you begin in water, or cross a water area, you need to use a sea movement order or your move will fail.


RE: Sea Movement Question - Brogan - 11-15-2013

(11-15-2013, 12:21 AM)DuPont Wrote:
(11-14-2013, 07:47 AM)Brogan Wrote:
(11-11-2013, 12:02 PM)HeadHoncho Wrote: Agree, I know that has been the case historically, but I'm curious now in light of Cipher's comment to the sea power changes, quoted above from the Known Issues thread.

Welcome back, by the way! Smile

Why not just get rid of 710/715 and join it with 720/725. It would be a heck of a lot easier. Just have the program Check for sea capacity at the start of the move and code it only to cancel/adjust move if there is a lack of capacity.

Because you can force march in land movement. You can't when part of the leg is over sea; thus the need for a different order.

No reason that can't be part of the order as well.


RE: Sea Movement Question - HeadHoncho - 11-15-2013

Speaking as a layman and an outsider, I'm nevertheless coming to understand that coding changes, even ones that appear small, are actually a pretty major endeavor. So if the separate orders are working, that's probably the better way to go right now.


RE: Sea Movement Question - Ry Vor - 11-15-2013

(11-15-2013, 12:10 PM)Brogan Wrote:
(11-15-2013, 12:21 AM)DuPont Wrote:
(11-14-2013, 07:47 AM)Brogan Wrote:
(11-11-2013, 12:02 PM)HeadHoncho Wrote: Agree, I know that has been the case historically, but I'm curious now in light of Cipher's comment to the sea power changes, quoted above from the Known Issues thread.

Welcome back, by the way! Smile

Why not just get rid of 710/715 and join it with 720/725. It would be a heck of a lot easier. Just have the program Check for sea capacity at the start of the move and code it only to cancel/adjust move if there is a lack of capacity.

Because you can force march in land movement. You can't when part of the leg is over sea; thus the need for a different order.

No reason that can't be part of the order as well.

We're open to volunteer coders, just provide your credentials and the hours you will commit at support@alamaze.co.