Alamaze & Fall of Rome Forum
Wizard Rules - Printable Version

+- Alamaze & Fall of Rome Forum (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum)
+-- Forum: ALAMAZE (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Forum: Alamaze Rules and Resources (https://kingdomsofarcania.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=22)
+--- Thread: Wizard Rules (/showthread.php?tid=8308)

Pages: 1 2


Wizard Rules - Sancus - 04-04-2013

If I want to train a wizard, what order do I use to transfer a wizard from a group to a town?


RE: Wizard Rules - DuPont - 04-04-2013

They don't have to transfer to a town, the group that they are in simply has to be outside one that is owned by the kingdom.


RE: Wizard Rules - Sancus - 04-04-2013

Now I can't find it. But, I read somewhere that a wizard needs to be at a PC for training. So, it seems like the rule could be better written.


RE: Wizard Rules - DuPont - 04-04-2013

He does need to be at a PC, but not inside like a political emissary. The group that he is in needs to end it's move outside a kingdom controlled center.


RE: Wizard Rules - Sancus - 04-04-2013

Maybe playing FoR has screwed me up. Do you know how much time I spent looking for an order to transfer a figure into a PC?


RE: Wizard Rules - wfrankenhoff - 04-06-2013

(04-04-2013, 09:30 PM)Sancus Wrote: Maybe playing FoR has screwed me up. Do you know how much time I spent looking for an order to transfer a figure into a PC?

Fall of Rome came out of Alamaze. I'm not too familiar with FOR, but I'd say that general concept translate across the games, but Alamaze is much more complicated.


RE: Wizard Rules - Sancus - 04-06-2013

Why is Order 799 missing from the Commands book and the Orders Cheat sheet? Where is the guidance to issue Order 799?


RE: Wizard Rules - Ry Vor - 04-06-2013

(04-06-2013, 04:36 PM)Sancus Wrote: Why is Order 799 missing from the Commands book and the Orders Cheat sheet? Where is the guidance to issue Order 799?

799 - Research Magic, is a Power 1 Spell on every kingdoms Power 1 Spell List.

So its on spell lists, not in the Commands, like all spells except #91, which Adepts can use.


RE: Wizard Rules - Sancus - 04-06-2013

(04-06-2013, 05:07 PM)Ry Vor Wrote:
(04-06-2013, 04:36 PM)Sancus Wrote: Why is Order 799 missing from the Commands book and the Orders Cheat sheet? Where is the guidance to issue Order 799?

799 - Research Magic, is a Power 1 Spell on every kingdoms Power 1 Spell List.

So its on spell lists, not in the Commands, like all spells except #91, which Adepts can use.

Should not the turn reports re-issue the spell guidance if I did not train a wizard? I forgot to train one of my wizards last turn. Then I was wondering where the spell list went. Then, I recalled it was on the T0 list...


For spell 888, it seems that you have all of the benefits of an agent, but no risk of death to the wizard since his Raven is performing the mission. The only thing that can go wrong is a sharp shooter who may shoot the raven out of the sky?

Is there any downside to using 888 vs. an agent for recon?

Since my list of spells does not contain this information, how do I know how much it costs for a specific spell? The orders guide provides this information. Not sure where/how to glean this cost, otherwise...


RE: Wizard Rules - Lord Diamond - 04-06-2013

(04-06-2013, 05:12 PM)Sancus Wrote:
(04-06-2013, 05:07 PM)Ry Vor Wrote:
(04-06-2013, 04:36 PM)Sancus Wrote: Why is Order 799 missing from the Commands book and the Orders Cheat sheet? Where is the guidance to issue Order 799?

799 - Research Magic, is a Power 1 Spell on every kingdoms Power 1 Spell List.

So its on spell lists, not in the Commands, like all spells except #91, which Adepts can use.

Should not the turn reports re-issue the spell guidance if I did not train a wizard? I forgot to train one of my wizards last turn. Then I was wondering where the spell list went. Then, I recalled it was on the T0 list...


For spell 888, it seems that you have all of the benefits of an agent, but no risk of death to the wizard since his Raven is performing the mission. The only thing that can go wrong is a sharp shooter who may shoot the raven out of the sky?

Is there any downside to using 888 vs. an agent for recon?

Since my list of spells does not contain this information, how do I know how much it costs for a specific spell? The orders guide provides this information. Not sure where/how to glean this cost, otherwise...

No, you only get notified with the new spells when you achieve a new level. Do yourself a favor and print them out! You should see my sweet binder. Smile You have to remember that this originated as a Play By Mail game. They actually printed the turns and mailed them to us. It would have been insane to expect them to send the spell list with every turn. Tink of the postage and paper!

For order 888, nothing can really go wrong. That's the benefit of having wizards. You can hire agents all day long and have them spaced all over the map, but you only have a few wizards. If that's what you want to use him for, that's your business. There is no downside.

There is no cost to spells. If there was a cost, it would be listed in the spell chart.

Try not to read too much into the game. It's complex, but not all that tricky. Don't make any assumptions. Read the rule book and the orders. Everything is there.